Skip to content

Dr Adrian Stagg

Dr Adrian Stagg
Name Adrian Stagg
Pronoun He/Him/His
Position Manager (Open Educational Practice)
Section Library Services
Office R Block Library
Location Toowoomba Campus
Phone +61 7 4631 2917
Extension 2917
Qualifications BA Charles Sturt , MAppSc(Lib&InfMgmt) Charles Sturt , PhD Tas

Dr Adrian Stagg is currently the Manager (Open Educational Practice) for the University of Southern Queensland. His career has included both public and academic libraries, as well as positions as a Learning Technologist and eLearning Designer. Adrian holds a PhD from the University of Tasmania, focusing on the Ecology of Open Educational Practices in Australian Higher Education; and previously a Master of Applied Science (Library and Information Management) from Charles Sturt University. Adrian is the co-founder of the ASCILITE Australasian Open Education Practice Special Interest Group (OEPSIG) and remains one of the Co-Conveners. He has led the Council of Australian Librarians (CAUL) 'OER Advocacy Project', a multi-institutional project as part of the 'Enabling a Modern Curriculum' focus that concluded in 2022. Adrian was awarded the Council of Australasian Leaders in Learning and Teaching (CAULLT) 'Advancing Academic Development Award' in 2019, and In 2023 he and colleague Nikki Andersen received an AAUT 'Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning' for the work conducted in UniSQ's Open Education Grants Scheme. During 2024, he is the Chair of the international OE Global Conference. This marks the first time the conference has been held in Australia. His research areas include the ecology of open educational practice and higher education policy as it relates to and supports, open educational initiatives.

Open educational practice

Chair, OE Global Conference (2024)
Australasian Open Education Practice Special Interest Group (Co-convener)
CAUL 'Enabling a Modern Curriculum' OER Advocacy Project (Project Lead)
Global OER Graduate Network (GO-GN) - Open University, UK
Open Education Network Steering Committee (2019-2021)